Prayer for a Gray Morning

On a day such as this, O Lord,
be near to me, I pray;
Keep its darkness far from my spirit.

Let me rather rejoice, my God,
in the nearness of your Spirit
and in the joy of my salvation.

Let me fall down before you,
in genuine adoration
and praise the Name by which I am saved.

Let me rise up
to walk humbly in the path
you have laid out before me.

Let me live as you lived:
in compassion, courage,
grace and integrity.

Help me, O Lord,
to comfort the afflicted,
to encourage the downhearted.

Forgive those who have wounded me
and forgive me for my woundings
and for the failures of my obedience.

On a day such as this, O Lord,
be near to me
that I may be close to you.

H. Arnett
5/11/10

About Doc Arnett

Native of southwestern Kentucky currently living in Blair, Kansas, with my wife of twenty-five years, Randa. We have, between us, eight children and twenty-one grandkids. We enjoy singing, worship, remodeling and travel.
This entry was posted in Christian Living, Relationships, Spiritual Contemplation and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.