Schedule Change

Except for the second cutting of the season three or four weeks ago, and in spite of all the rain we’ve been having. I’ve managed to keep pace with the grass. That has meant mowing every four or five days which is the justice due for the foolishness of applying fertilizer to the yard. My newfound devotion and determination might have something to do with having had to spend an hour or more raking up the cuttings after the first mowing and realizing that increasing the frequency of said practice might just about eliminate the need for the raking.

This is a bit of a change for me, actually.

I was raised and for a few decades adhered to the dogma of mowing the yard once a week. If that meant the grass was knee-high to a dwarf giraffe, mow slow and rake well. If that meant that I could barely tell where I’d just cut, pay attention to the wheel tracks and cut anyway. At least the neighbors would hear the noise of the motor and know that I was dutifully giving my yard its weekly trim. Whether it needed it or not.

But now, it seems, I have at least temporarily abandoned that long ago instilled practice and am trying to just mow the yard whenever it needs mowing.

It is probably a good thing, no matter how delayed, to learn to attend to things according to their need rather than to my desires. It might be that there are other areas of my life that could benefit from that same insight but for now, I’m focused on the grass.

H. Arnett
5/20/10

About Doc Arnett

Native of southwestern Kentucky currently living in Blair, Kansas, with my wife of twenty-five years, Randa. We have, between us, eight children and twenty-one grandkids. We enjoy singing, worship, remodeling and travel.
This entry was posted in Christian Living, Spiritual Contemplation, Work and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.