Close Proximity

Well, my buddy Frank is up to his conniving ways again. He’d surprised himself and everyone else who knew about it a couple of months ago when he’d helped clean up around the Washington Park Library. It appears that his civic volunteerism has moved closer to home.

I was driving through his neighborhood a couple of days ago and saw Frank’s pickup parked several feet out into the street. He was shoveling stuff into the back of it, old leaves and debris he’d scraped up from along the curb. Thing was, it wasn’t his curb; Frank’s pickup was parked in front of someone else’s house.

“What are you doing?” I teased, “Stealing compost?”

“Nah,” he shrugged, “Trying to help beautify America.”

He paused and then added, “I think these people have defaulted on this place. They moved out last week. I figured if I could go over three miles from here and help clean up someone else’s neighborhood I could at least do the same for my neighbors.”

I think ole Frank might be onto something here, folks. Something that could apply to benevolence, volunteerism, witnessing and mission work. It just might be that the second best place in the world to start doing good is right down the street. The best place is right next door.

H. Arnett
6/30/10

About Doc Arnett

Native of southwestern Kentucky currently living in Blair, Kansas, with my wife of twenty-five years, Randa. We have, between us, eight children and twenty-one grandkids. We enjoy singing, worship, remodeling and travel.
This entry was posted in Christian Living, Relationships, Spiritual Contemplation and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.