Bargain Hunters

In a few hours, my long-awaited yard sale will begin. This project actually began last year after my father’s death. After the funeral, I got a fair idea of the abundant over-accumulation of stuff in his workshop, basement and other storage areas. I decided I didn’t want to leave this world with that much junk lying around for other people to have to deal with. Hence, today’s yard sale.

With a little help from my neighbor, I have hauled, washed, cleaned, scraped, repaired and placed so much “this will come in handy some day” stuff that I’m almost ready to divest myself of every cubic foot of storage space that I have available.

That’s a big part of the trouble, you know. Between this basement, this garage, the garage at the rental unit and the eight or nine hundred square feet of floor space in the basement of the rental unit, we’ve had enough storage space available for several years now to avoid a lot significant decisions about getting rid of stuff. Hopefully, today will be a good start on changing that.

I’m just hoping that there are enough other people coming by who will want the stuff I’m wanting to get rid of that I will be able to get rid of a lot of it. Those who love to play the lower bid game better be careful; they may end up taking something home with them. Naturally, there’s a good chance that other people are going to agree with me and believe that most of this is just stuff that should be tossed.

I guess God could have decided that about us; most of us have given him plenty of reason to think that. Instead, he took the very best that he had so that he could pay for the very worst that we had done. And he, my friend, is actually looking forward to taking us home with him.

H. Arnett
7/2/10

About Doc Arnett

Native of southwestern Kentucky currently living in Blair, Kansas, with my wife of twenty-five years, Randa. We have, between us, eight children and twenty-one grandkids. We enjoy singing, worship, remodeling and travel.
This entry was posted in Christian Living, Death & Dying, Spiritual Contemplation and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.