Here It Comes

It may be that today’s heat index will indeed reach the projected one-hundred-and-twelve degree mark. If it does, I’m hoping that my acquaintance is mostly cognitive and minimally experiential. Just in case, I’ll drink lots of water while working in the air-conditioned sanctuary of my office. Should some aspect of the day’s duties call me into that heat, I’ll watch myself, taking it even and deliberate, moving slowly enough to avoid exhaustion and quickly enough to not get painted.

I’d reckon there are nearly as many people who do not properly prepare and pace themselves in these heat waves as there are people who don’t spend as much time in prayer as they should before stepping out into this world’s oppressive force. One thing for sure, if you’re not ready for it, it will put you flat on your back.

H. Arnett
7/22/10

About Doc Arnett

Native of southwestern Kentucky currently living in Blair, Kansas, with my wife of twenty-five years, Randa. We have, between us, eight children and twenty-one grandkids. We enjoy singing, worship, remodeling and travel.
This entry was posted in Christian Living, Nature, Spiritual Contemplation, Work and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.