Brain Freeze

I just now checked our local weather history for the past couple of days, specifically looking at low temperatures. The readings are taken at Rosecrans Airport, just a few miles east of our house. In that low flat bordering the banks of the Missouri River, the thermometer dipped down to minus eleven Wednesday night. I didn’t know that when I bundled up for work yesterday morning. All I knew was that I was very glad that I bundled up for work.

This morning, I checked the reading and saw that we were already up to eight degrees above zero and that we’re predicted to get up to thirty-one today. If that happens, we’ll have kids strolling across campus in tee shirts and shorts. I think I’ll probably keep my coat on and just take advantage of that wonderful little emotional lift that comes from looking at someone else and wondering, “Have you lost all of the nerve endings in your skin or just the strand that connects them to your cerebellum?”

I just figure it’s fair turnabout for all the times my actions have spurred similar responses. I’m pretty sure that folks watching me stumbling around in something like the brain numbness that must think that is the most logical explanation for some of my stupid decisions.

Thank God for warm boots and his wonderful mercy!

H. Arnett

1/14/11

About Doc Arnett

Native of southwestern Kentucky currently living in Blair, Kansas, with my wife of twenty-five years, Randa. We have, between us, eight children and twenty-one grandkids. We enjoy singing, worship, remodeling and travel.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.