Thank You Note

People write to me from time to time to let me know they liked a particular piece. Sometimes, someone will say that it was exactly what he or she needed for that day, a lift in a dark time. There have also been a few times over the years that I’ll hear from someone that I don’t even know, someone to whom a piece was passed on by one of my subscribers. They may send word through that person or get my email address from him or her and contact me directly.

Most recently, a friend posted a poem of mine on his website. One of his readers is married to a person who is terminally ill. She has been taking care of him for some time and he recently decided he was through with the long, slow walk and refused to eat or take his medicine. Though she felt like he should have the right to make that decision, she knew that starving to death wasn’t going to be a good way to go, for either of them. She also knew that his mind was not working clearly anymore. But, after a few days and many prayers by others, he changed his mind.

She had written my friend to let him know about that and to tell him that the poem he had posted had helped her. She had found some centering in it, some strengthening at a time when she really needed it.

I don’t think Jerry was thinking about her specifically when he asked me if he could post the poem. I know I wasn’t thinking about anyone in particular when I wrote it nor when I told him, "Sure, go ahead and post it."

But I do believe someone else was thinking about her. I do believe someone else brought together Jerry and my poem, the prayers of others and her own seeking and any number of other things to give her what she needed to make it through that time.

Please know that every time you send word to me that you liked something, that something I wrote spoke to you or to someone you know, you participate in this ministry. Every time you do that, you encourage me, and I need encouragement far more and more often than you might think. It helps me continue the self-discipline, it gives me hope and purpose. It makes me glad that I do this and I rejoice whenever anything I have said or done encourages another person or spurs them to follow more closely in step with the love and grace in him that I seek to serve.

Thank you for helping me.

H. Arnett

2/16/11

About Doc Arnett

Native of southwestern Kentucky currently living in Blair, Kansas, with my wife of twenty-five years, Randa. We have, between us, eight children and twenty-one grandkids. We enjoy singing, worship, remodeling and travel.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.