Mixed Blessings

A friend of mine grew up the flat plains of central Indiana. While he was still in high school, he heard a local farmer complaining bitterly about daylight savings time. It had been a very hot, dry summer and by July, the man was at wit’s end. Day after day, his corn wilted below the tassels, long blades twisted in the heat. Finally, in exasperation, he erupted, “This extra hour of sunshine every day is burning my crops up!”

The man was absolutely serious.

For me, it’s usually a few days of adjustment, a bit of exasperation that once again I have to get up while it’s still dark and then enjoy the extra time of daylight after I get home in the evening. I’d just as soon wait another month for that but, once again, the powers that be have decided to act without consulting me.

There’s a lot of that in life and the better I get at getting used to it, the better I’m able to get along. I’m learning to find the good in the blessings I didn’t ask for.

At least our horse has a shed so he can get in out of that extra hour of sunshine every day.

H. Arnett

3/15/11

About Doc Arnett

Native of southwestern Kentucky currently living in Blair, Kansas, with my wife of twenty-five years, Randa. We have, between us, eight children and twenty-one grandkids. We enjoy singing, worship, remodeling and travel.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.