Trouble Shooting

I’m a bit suspicious that our society spends too much time complaining and too little time praying. We treat inconveniences as if they were afflictions and afflictions as if they were torture. Take me and the weather, for example.

I prefer a slow change of seasons, a gentle turning from one to the other and time to take the turning by stages. I like the subtle shifting from heavy dew and foggy mornings to that first forming of frost, light in the low spots across the fields and then, later, that solid coating that turns everything white. I love it when spring moves from one bloom to another and another, each taking its turn and moving bit by bit into that burning of summer.

That’s how I like it, but that’s not how it is this year.

We jumped from frost to ninety and back to freeze back in April. And then, we stayed closer to freeze than ninety for several weeks. It’s been less than two weeks since our last frost and now we’ve leap-frogged from that into the nineties again.

I’m sure any conspiracy theorist worth his talk could surely find some sort of secret government experiment stolen by the utility companies and used to manipulate the weather in order to maximize their profits. There are people like that, I know, and they always seem to have enough of an audience that they can get at least one talk show going.

I guess there’s nothing quite like a little shared anger and frustration to draw people together. Whether it’s the weather or Washington or the cost of cereal, it seems like there’s no shortage of reasons to get all bent out of shape anymore. But if it’s being mad about something that brings some folks together, what good is that unless they do something good about it?

Like me, going from griping about how cold it is in May to being grouchy because I woke up sweating the morning after Memorial Day. Maybe it would be more productive if I would just put on a short sleeve shirt and turn on a fan.

I might even give the repairman a call and get the AC fixed!

H. Arnett

5/31/11

About Doc Arnett

Native of southwestern Kentucky currently living in Blair, Kansas, with my wife of twenty-five years, Randa. We have, between us, eight children and twenty-one grandkids. We enjoy singing, worship, remodeling and travel.
This entry was posted in Christian Living, Nature, Relationships, Spiritual Contemplation and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.