Closer Than We Thought

I got a text message late Saturday evening telling me that a couple of young people from one of our local high schools had been seriously injured in a four-wheeler accident. The sixteen-year-old girl had suffered head trauma and the eighteen-year-old boy had broken at least one leg. I forwarded the message on to several people of faith that I know and asked them to pray.

At church the next morning, I learned that the girl had been life-flighted to the hospital and they were concerned about possible brain damage. I also learned that Cody’s grandmother was a teacher who retired from the college a year or two after I started working there. Then, I found out that Alexis’s dad is our head groundskeeper.
Barry and I are not drinking buddies or even non-drinking buddies but we do know each other. In fact, earlier in the week he and I had talked for a while outside my office building. What had been a relatively impersonal event suddenly became very personal to me.
When we have a direct connection to those whose lives have been touched by some tragedy, our response, both emotionally and physically is very different. We are much more inclined to place ourselves in their position and therefore feel their pain to a greater extent and respond with greater compassion and concern.
And I think that is very much a part of loving our neighbors as we love ourselves.
H. Arnett
6/21/11
About Doc Arnett

Native of southwestern Kentucky currently living in Blair, Kansas, with my wife of twenty-five years, Randa. We have, between us, eight children and twenty-one grandkids. We enjoy singing, worship, remodeling and travel.
This entry was posted in Christian Living, Death & Dying, Family, Relationships, Spiritual Contemplation and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.