Gettin’ Better

The ribs have healed enough that I can sneeze without agony and I can lie on my side for a little while without feeling like I’m abusing myself. They are still sore, sensitive enough that I can’t find a position that is actually comfortable. But after two or three weeks of not being able to take a single breath without hurting, I maintain that in my sixth week of recovery, I am considerably improved.

 

I find myself, once again, in one of life’s bends. Looking too far back up the river, I remember when I was half this age, young, strong and undaunted. Looking back to only five weeks ago, I remember that even the slightest twist or change brought fresh pangs. Looking ahead, I’m optimistic that in a few more weeks, I will be feeling much better.

 

Sometimes in our self-examinations, we may look too far in the wrong direction. If all I see is where I should be spiritually, I may become too discouraged. If I look back to the beginning of my walk with a wrong perspective, I may become too ashamed. What I try to do, and at which I am occasionally successful, is to view these matters with two basic ideas.

 

One, as I look back to my starting point, I am grateful for all that the Lord has accomplished with me, in me. I am not prideful of what I have done, because there has been much over those years that I do regret. Yet, I can see that I have grown in faith, hope, and love. I can see the fruit of the Spirit in my life and I am grateful for his work in me.

 

As I look forward to the time when his work will be finished in me, I am moved with humility because I can see how much more work needs to be done. But I am also encouraged, because I know that the Lord will not quit on the good work he has begun in me.

 

And, from what I’ve seen, he does pretty good work.

 

 

H. Arnett

8/18/11

About Doc Arnett

Native of southwestern Kentucky currently living in Blair, Kansas, with my wife of twenty-five years, Randa. We have, between us, eight children and twenty-one grandkids. We enjoy singing, worship, remodeling and travel.
This entry was posted in Aging, Christian Living, Relationships, Spiritual Contemplation and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.