Solo Vacation

Lord willing, I’ll be boarding an airplane in Kansas City late this afternoon. If things connect well in Atlanta, I’ll be with my second oldest son, Sam, and his family in the Virginia Beach area tonight. I’ll get to meet one of the grandsons I haven’t seen yet and renew acquaintance with his two older brothers. It’s an added bonus that this will be on Sam’s thirty-fourth birthday. It’s been quite a few years since I was with Sam on his birthday, probably when he was still in high school and possibly even longer ago than that.

If our plans are blessed, we’ll be joined by two of Sam’s brothers on Friday night and we’ll spend the day together Saturday, fishing in the Atlantic Ocean. Never having spent any significant time on the ocean, I may discover that I’m prone to seasickness. Then again, I may have been born to it just as natural as anything. Guess we’ll find out.

I’m hoping to also find out how well I adapt to the mountains of western North Carolina as I visit my sister and her husband, my niece and her husband, and whatever canine friends might be found among them. Following that brief time, I plan to go to Columbus, Ohio, where I’ll participate in training for filing some of the federal reports that my job requires.

Having lived in Buckeye Village when I was earning my doctorate degree, I’ll hope to see a few friends from a previous century and visit with my brother and his family, who live east of Columbus. Then, I hope to be back home a bit before midnight on the third Saturday of the month.

During this time, I’ll have to abandon Randa to taking care of the three horses by herself and making sure the cat gets the occasional opportunity to sink her teeth into something other than human flesh. With the Lord’s blessing, the Arabian gelding will have a new, good home by the time I get back. With the cat’s penchant for unprovoked attacks, there’s an almost even chance that we’ll have two less animals on the place.

Regardless of equine and feline concerns, I’m excited about the trip, looking forward to the visits, even though I will miss my wife. It is a particular blessing, too, to know that neither of us will dread my coming home.

H. Arnett

10-6-11

About Doc Arnett

Native of southwestern Kentucky currently living in Blair, Kansas, with my wife of twenty-five years, Randa. We have, between us, eight children and twenty-one grandkids. We enjoy singing, worship, remodeling and travel.
This entry was posted in Christian Living, Family, Relationships, Spiritual Contemplation and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.