Snoozing

I have to confess that I love the snooze button. I love those extra minutes of sleep, that extra time of comfort in warm covers. Especially on these chilly autumn mornings, that brief time of extra forming my thoughts for the coming day while still held in the warm cocoon of rest brings me genuine pleasure. Perhaps, there’s some sense of stealing a bit of “me time” while the world cannot yet find me.

The first alarm will usually spawn a few more minutes of rest, perhaps even a quick dream. The second, though, transitions me. I usually spend most of that time praying for wisdom for the day, for peace and for insight into whatever issue is weighing upon my mind at the time.

It is the alarm that ends this session that is most critical. It is at this point that I either quickly swing my feet out of bed with plenty of time for morning duties and rituals or I hit the snooze button one time too many. It is that third hit that sends a signal of reluctance to face this day, a choosing to withdraw and retreat, a baseless hoping that if I hide a while longer, the call of responsibility will then leave me alone. It is this one that determines whether or not I will be late leaving for work or else leave undone some simple duty of the morning.

We ought to be careful with our snoozing. Choosing a bit more rest so that we may be more ready, more prepared, more energized is a good thing. Using a bit more time in prayer so that we may more fully follow the teaching of Jesus is an excellent thing. Hitting snooze one more time rather than engaging our challenges and opportunities is something else entirely.

H. Arnett
10/17/11Especially on these chilly autumn mornings, that brief time of extra forming my thoughts for the coming day while still held in the warm cocoon of rest brings me genuine pleasure. Perhaps, there’s some sense of stealing a bit of “me time” while the world cannot yet find me.

The first alarm will usually spawn a few more minutes of rest, perhaps even a quick dream. The second, though, transitions me. I usually spend most of that time praying for wisdom for the day, for peace and for insight into whatever issue is weighing upon my mind at the time.

It is the alarm that ends this session that is most critical. It is at this point that I either quickly swing my feet out of bed with plenty of time for morning duties and rituals or I hit the snooze button one time too many. It is that third hit that sends a signal of reluctance to face this day, a choosing to withdraw and retreat, a baseless hoping that if I hide a while longer, the call of responsibility will then leave me alone. It is this one that determines whether or not I will be late leaving for work or else leave undone some simple duty of the morning.

We ought to be careful with our snoozing. Choosing a bit more rest so that we may be more ready, more prepared, more energized is a good thing. Using a bit more time in prayer so that we may more fully follow the teaching of Jesus is an excellent thing. Hitting snooze one more time rather than engaging our challenges and opportunities is something else entirely.

H. Arnett
10/17/11

About Doc Arnett

Native of southwestern Kentucky currently living in Blair, Kansas, with my wife of twenty-five years, Randa. We have, between us, eight children and twenty-one grandkids. We enjoy singing, worship, remodeling and travel.
This entry was posted in Christian Living, Spiritual Contemplation and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.