The Gift

I’ve never been much of a gift giver. Not that I don’t try, it’s just that I’m pretty lousy at it. Some of that is due to being so oblivious, err, I mean, being so focused on whatever it is I’m doing whenever I’m failing to be keenly observant about someone else’s likes and dislikes. Randa, on the other hand, can walk into someone else’s office, home or room and in three minutes, tell you what colors they like, what sort of hobbies they have, what their sibling birth order is and how they voted in the last three elections. Basically, I can tell you whether or not they were in their office, home or room. If I really concentrate.

Occasionally, though, I’ll get lucky. I’ll actually give someone something he or she doesn’t want to immediately re-gift, re-cycle or indulge his or her pyromanic tendencies. Like my thirty-year-old’s birthday gift.

Admittedly, it was a couple of months late but that wasn’t the real issue. The real issue is that Ben, along with an increasing number of his siblings, is an avid deer hunter. I don’t know how hard it is to locate avid deer but he seems to manage, especially with the coaching of his mentor and brother, Daniel. I decided to given each of them a small, portable hunting blind. When Ben opened his, he was, well, I’d have to say “ecstatic” would not be an overstatement.

“Papa! This is awesome! I love this. This is so cool! I’ve been wanting one of these for three years.” He held the box as if it contained gold, diamonds or some other treasure. I actually thought I saw his eyes glistening. He grabbed me in a big hug and said again, “Thank you, Papa. I really, really like this.”

I thought about that all the way on my five-hundred-mile trip back home from Murray, Kentucky. I thought about the excitement on his face, the delight in his eyes and the gratitude of his hug.

I think I may have gained a gnat’s notion of a camel of how much it pleases our Father to see his children embrace with delight and excitement the salvation that he has delivered to them through his Only Begotten Son.

H. Arnett
12/22/11

About Doc Arnett

Native of southwestern Kentucky currently living in Blair, Kansas, with my wife of twenty-five years, Randa. We have, between us, eight children and twenty-one grandkids. We enjoy singing, worship, remodeling and travel.
This entry was posted in Christian Living, Family, Relationships, Spiritual Contemplation and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.