Getting Along

Every now and then, I do something strange. Pick up a hitchhiker, speak to someone I don’t know, stuff like that. In fact, I’ve been doing weird stuff for so long now, it’s about to get to where strange is normal.

Some days, it’s something as simple as putting peanuts in my Pepsi or crumbling up some cornbread in a glass of milk. Of course, I’d been doing that for a long time before I found out it was strange. Learned I have to be more selective about the audience. In fact, living out here so near the open range, I’ve just about become downright secretive about some of my strangeness.

The latest episode, however, was done in full view of others.

I took my class of eleven students over to our Wellness Center yesterday and had them do an activity that clearly none of them had done before. It’s quite simple really; all they had to do was move a big exercise ball from the starting line to the finish line, a distance that looked to be darn near fifty yards. There were a couple of catches; they couldn’t touch the ball with their hands or move forward when they were touching the ball. Oh, and the ball couldn’t touch the floor.

Well, they thought and they talked and they worked together and they figured it out. Then, they got it done.

It’s just downright fun to watch a group of strangers getting over being strangers, seeing them communicate and cooperate, witnessing their working together and mastering a challenge. Unless I remarkably misread the whole scene, it seemed that every single one of them enjoyed pitching in, each doing his part so that the whole group could be successful.

It’s really fun when a church does something strange like that.

H. Arnett

1/27/12

About Doc Arnett

Native of southwestern Kentucky currently living in Blair, Kansas, with my wife of twenty-five years, Randa. We have, between us, eight children and twenty-one grandkids. We enjoy singing, worship, remodeling and travel.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.