Late Night Ruminations

With nothing particular on my mind and no dietary suspects, I cannot explain the trouble I had in getting to sleep last night. Sometimes, I think such times might be the result of some deeper concern, something disturbing the spirit, something beyond normal thought. Something lying beneath the surface and even the depths of the conscious, stirs the mind below the level of specific awareness.

Whatever it was, it reminded me that I’ve heard said that poor health is sometimes because of what we eat and sometimes because of what’s eating us.

I’ve gotten better over the years at taking care of both issues. In regard to the first, I’ve managed to avoid eating so much fried food, stopping with one serving of dessert and not buying those little devil’s food, chocolate-iced treats that I love so much. In regard to the second, I’ve gotten better at confronting issues, talking with people directly and forgiving.

Which isn’t to say there’s no room for improvement. Sometimes, I should stop before dessert and I admit I should do more talking with than talking about the ones with whom I’ve become upset.

It is a lifelong process on both counts, apparently. We never live beyond the need for moderation, restraint and deliberation. That applies to the food part, too.

H. Arnett
5/15/12

About Doc Arnett

Native of southwestern Kentucky currently living in Blair, Kansas, with my wife of twenty-five years, Randa. We have, between us, eight children and twenty-one grandkids. We enjoy singing, worship, remodeling and travel.
This entry was posted in Christian Living, Relationships, Spiritual Contemplation and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.