Good Exercise

Good morning and good blessings to you,
Doc

Good Exercise

I don’t know how long she’s been working out at the Wellness Center at the college but I do know that I see her there every day around noon. I also know that she’s lost fifty pounds or more in the last couple of years. That’s about all I know about her weight loss; I don’t know whether or not she has lost that weight deliberately.

On the one hand, given her conscientious attention to exercise, it would seem obvious that it’s deliberate. But I’ve come to see in life that what we see on the obvious hand is not always an accurate perception of how things are. It is possible, I suppose, that the exercise is intended to regain strength following a lengthy illness. If it is, instead, part of a plan to continue losing weight, I have reason to think she may need to alter the plan.

After my workout yesterday, I walked over to the convenience store located across the street from the southwest corner of our campus. When I headed toward the counter with my lean lunch, there she was… with her four candy bars.

Now, of course, here’s another situation where that one hand could be pointing in the wrong direction. Maybe she has grandkids waiting at home. Maybe her husband has one heck of a sweet tooth. Or maybe, just maybe, she figures a good workout deserves a Snickers bar or two or four. If that’s it, she’s not the only person I know who seems to be sabotaging her own efforts.

Whether the goal is losing weight, conquering a bad habit or trying to live with integrity, the most profitable exercise is exercising self-control. Or, in the words of another health advisor, equally well qualified, “Eat all the candy you want. Just leave the wrapper on while you’re eating.”

When we are willing to use whatever trick it takes to turn us away from the things that pull us toward self-destruction, we are ready to overcome.

H. Arnett
7/18/12

About Doc Arnett

Native of southwestern Kentucky currently living in Blair, Kansas, with my wife of twenty-five years, Randa. We have, between us, eight children and twenty-one grandkids. We enjoy singing, worship, remodeling and travel.
This entry was posted in Christian Living, Exercise, Spiritual Contemplation and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.