End of Harvest

Well, I guess with the way this year has gone, I shouldn’t be too shocked to see a hard freeze predicted for this weekend, starting tonight. Seems like everything else has come at least a month early this year. We had trees budding in February and hit ninety degrees in March. Corn planting was finished several weeks ahead of the usual time and its harvest is almost complete already. Usually, there’s still corn standing in the fields into November.

Most years, the personal impact of the end of the growing season is limited to missing the flowers and having to start feeding hay to the horses. I’ll miss the flowers but the dry weather got me started on the hay three months ago. It will, though, mean that pretty soon now we’ll have to double up on the hay. There is another impact this year, though.

The freeze will ruin any apples left in the orchard and with the case of cider fever I’ve developed this year, that’s going to hurt. Especially given how many free apples are left in the orchard I’ve been mining this year. It pains me to think about losing thirty or forty gallons of potential cider. To think about all the apples that will rot on the trees and on the ground beneath them. To think about all those glasses of deliciously chilled cider, all those mugs of hot, spiced cider that folks could have had but won’t.

My seasons upon this earth will one day come to an end and I will have spent all the effort that I can spend to make a harvest of all the opportunities that God has given me. I hope that he will be pleased with the cider that I’ve made and shared out of my life.

H. Arnett
10/5/12

About Doc Arnett

Native of southwestern Kentucky currently living in Blair, Kansas, with my wife of twenty-five years, Randa. We have, between us, eight children and twenty-one grandkids. We enjoy singing, worship, remodeling and travel.
This entry was posted in Aging, Christian Devotions, Christian Living, Death & Dying, Farming, Gardening, Metaphysical Reflection, Nature, Spiritual Contemplation, Work and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.