Truth and Consequences

It had been three weeks since the Infamous Juice Spill that injected a generous quantity of low-pulp orange juice into my computer keyboard, over my desk, on top of the floor-based CPU and the office telephone that was sitting on top of the CPU. A couple of other things in the vicinity took slight collateral damage as well, including my small space heater.

My immediate response was to rapidly procure a wad of anti-absorbent paper towels from the closest bathroom, which fortunately is the men’s room.

You’re probably familiar with the ubiquitous brown rolls that supply rest stops, truck stops and other commercial areas of convenience in public places across this great nation. They are made, apparently, of recycled industrial wastes that virtually repel water and a variety of other liquids. They certainly are not close kin to the Bounty Quicker Picker-Uppers but must be considerably cheaper.

Fortunately, even with such inferior armament, I was able to quickly smear most of the orange juice off of my desk top. Less fortunately, that action increased the quantity on the telephone and CPU, as well as spattering a bit more on the space heater. A bit more time and another cluster of paper towels removed most of the visible infestation from most of the visible surfaces. It was, overall, a very memorable way of ending the work year and beginning my winter break.

With a variety of fine diversions over the holiday season, I managed to put the shame and indignity behind me. It wasn’t until I returned to work this week that I remembered. Specifically, that recollection was stimulated by my first attempt to use my phone.

No surgical procedure was necessary to remove the handset from my ear. The same cannot be said for what it took to get the keypad functioning properly again. I am happy to report that all of the keys now return to their starting position upon release and that the phone hasn’t been this clean since three days after its purchase. I am certainly more acquainted with the internal construction of the modern digital touchpad phone than I ever expected.

Sometimes by carelessness, sometimes by callousness and sometimes by sheer stupidity, our choices sometimes lead us into opportunities very different from what we envisioned. With our effort and honesty and by his overwhelming grace, God is able to take even our worst mistakes and bring good out of them.

H. Arnett
1/11/13

About Doc Arnett

Native of southwestern Kentucky currently living in Blair, Kansas, with my wife of twenty-five years, Randa. We have, between us, eight children and twenty-one grandkids. We enjoy singing, worship, remodeling and travel.
This entry was posted in Christian Devotions, Christian Living, Humor, Metaphysical Reflection, Spiritual Contemplation, Work and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.