Dodging the Wind

When I came back into the house after feeding the horses just now, Randa asked me what the temperature was outside. I told her I didn’t know for sure but my guess was that the temperature was below twenty and the wind speed was not.

That’s not a combination I particularly like. I rather prefer a temperature of around seventy-eight or so, with a light breeze if I’m working outside and no breeze if I’m doing something important, like sitting in a lawn chair sipping a glass of sweet tea. In Hawaii, there’d be a pretty fair chance of getting that weather prescription a hundred days or more each year. Here, in northeast Kansas, maybe twice a year.

So, most of the time here on the edge of the Great Prairie, we have the option of grumbling and griping about the weather or of adjusting our expectations, dressing appropriately and proceeding with the lives we have chosen.

I guess we could do both but that sort of takes the fun out of adjusting. It really isn’t the circumstances that make life so unpleasant from time to time as much as it is our choice to do spend so little time in positive effort to change those circumstances. And, our attitude about them.

H. Arnett
2/19/13

About Doc Arnett

Native of southwestern Kentucky currently living in Blair, Kansas, with my wife of twenty-five years, Randa. We have, between us, eight children and twenty-one grandkids. We enjoy singing, worship, remodeling and travel.
This entry was posted in Christian Devotions, Christian Living, Farming, Metaphysical Reflection, Nature, Spiritual Contemplation and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.