Of Coming Light

Just above the dark spreading form
of the cottonwood tree,
a quarter moon bleeds through
the thin drifting clouds.

Splotches of snow seem to glow
in the slight light
of moon and morning.

Yesterday’s warming melted most
of the thin places
and we thought there would be rain,
but the night’s lowering cold
refroze the surface
of the lingering drifts.

My boots barely crunch the crust
as I make my way
toward hay and horses,
north wind at my back.

In this drought and chill
it is easy to think of lacks
and a longing for warm rains,
but there is still hay for the rack,
and I have good boots
and a heavy jacket.

And all that I need
of daily bread.

H. Arnett
3/5/13

About Doc Arnett

Native of southwestern Kentucky currently living in Blair, Kansas, with my wife of twenty-five years, Randa. We have, between us, eight children and twenty-one grandkids. We enjoy singing, worship, remodeling and travel.
This entry was posted in Christian Devotions, Christian Living, Farming, Metaphysical Reflection, Nature, Poetry, Spiritual Contemplation and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.