Fashion Statement

I think I know this man in the mirror,
a clearer image now
than a few minutes ago.

Having shaved the snow off my chin,
I can see it again,
though it is not the one I remembered.

Funny how seventeen years
can change things,
but I’m not laughing.

There are sags now,
creases turned into folds,
slumps of flesh

that used to hold fresh
to the shape of bone,
set to the prime of life.

I have gained a bit of wisdom,
I like to tell myself,
trying to see something positive

in this losing battle
of time and gravity,
this coming of age
in a world that despises age.

I cannot continue on life’s course
toward the grave
without some signs of the traveling,
but I don’t have to put them on display.

The last time I shaved my chin
was for my mother’s eightieth birthday;
she’s ninety-seven now.
Next time, we’ll both be dead.

H. Arnett
3/13/13

About Doc Arnett

Native of southwestern Kentucky currently living in Blair, Kansas, with my wife of twenty-five years, Randa. We have, between us, eight children and twenty-one grandkids. We enjoy singing, worship, remodeling and travel.
This entry was posted in Aging, Christian Devotions, Christian Living, Death & Dying, Family, Humor, Metaphysical Reflection, Poetry, Relationships, Spiritual Contemplation and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Fashion Statement

  1. Tom Hale says:

    Excellent, Doc. I know that feeling. Yeah, I’ll take all and what little cover I can get.

  2. Brian Casey says:

    I like your lack of fear. Ending a meditation with “we’ll both be dead” is a bit courageous, but oh-so-appropriate.

    I’m writing about “keepin’ it real” in church right now and just finished an exegetical series on Galatians. Pepper that with http://blcasey.wordpress.com/2013/03/10/four-straight-days/, which is probably more along the lines that you write….

Comments are closed.