Driving Back from Little Rock

I don’t know whether or not
it has to do with being male
instead of female

or with being nearly sixty
instead of barely thirty

or maybe it’s just being me

and, I think that explanations
can be a bit over-rated anyway
but I do know

that watching my son
and my daughter-in-law
holding their newborn daughter

is somehow as precious to me
as holding her myself

and I am thinking of all three of them
as I am driving
through the mists of these mountains
in northern Arkansas

and remember
that we have been made
only a little lower than the angels.

H. Arnett
3/27/13

About Doc Arnett

Native of southwestern Kentucky currently living in Blair, Kansas, with my wife of twenty-five years, Randa. We have, between us, eight children and twenty-one grandkids. We enjoy singing, worship, remodeling and travel.
This entry was posted in Christian Devotions, Christian Living, Family, Metaphysical Reflection, Poetry, Relationships, Spiritual Contemplation and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.