Gettin’ Ready

Over the years
I’ve helped wipe away
the tears of loved ones
who’d lost someone dear,
someone who actually mattered to them.

I’ve held the hands
of those whose final hours
were upon them,
prayed with their families
in that time of groaning and grieving.

I stood by their beds,
felt the light leaden shadow
of their passing,
heard the last sounds of breathing
and sensed the lightness of their leaving.

I’ve seen the weariness of living
take hold of old bodies
worn thin by the distance
from their beginnings,
seen the longing in old eyes
for release from this life.

I’ve grown comfortable
with the dying of such others,
believing that theirs
is a relieving of all things bitter
and a receiving of something better:
a fine rest well earned.

It’s only lately, though,
that I’ve come to know
that I’m practicing for a time
when such calmness and caring
will bring its sharing
much closer home.

H. Arnett
4/23/13

About Doc Arnett

Native of southwestern Kentucky currently living in Blair, Kansas, with my wife of twenty-five years, Randa. We have, between us, eight children and twenty-one grandkids. We enjoy singing, worship, remodeling and travel.
This entry was posted in Aging, Christian Devotions, Christian Living, Death & Dying, Family, Metaphysical Reflection, Poetry, Relationships, Spiritual Contemplation and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.