A Good Day Off

I had planned to spend the day yesterday doing some inside work, finishing up the surround for the whirlpool tub. After three fairly early morning medical appointments for some routine stuff, I went over to Menard’s to pick up the wood I needed for doing the trim around the bottom of the tub skirt. The plan was to cut a rabbet along the top edge so it would slip over the lower edge of the beadboard. Then, I would miter the corners, install and paint. That was the plan.

But when I got home and stepped out into the sixty-degree air on a beautifully sunny day… well, plans changed. I put the wood in the garage and shifted to the new plans.

First, I used my little Kubota tractor and an old rear-mounted blade to re-grade the driveway. After the pounding rains from last week, it needed it. Then, I changed from blade to Bush-Hog and mowed the banks along the highway. After the pounding rains from last week, they needed it. Then, I spent an hour or more sweeping and picking up small broken branches (mostly birch) and catalpa pods. After the heavy rains that came with the pounding rains last week… well, you’re probably picking up the pattern here. After loading those up in the back of my little Ranger pickup and adding them to the burn pile, I got the John Deere riding mower out of the shed for its first work of the season. When that was finished, I put the landscape box on the back of the Kubota and had some real fun.

I’d started leveling the northwest part of the yard two years ago, reshaping a long slope that channeled water into the basement. I’d managed to create a relatively flat section that drained to the north side of the yard instead of toward the house. I wanted to expand that and cut deeper and farther into the west bank. It was so dry last year that the ground was too hard for me to work with my small equipment. Yesterday, though, was an entirely different matter. The rain we’ve had in the last month had produced a perfect degree of moisture. I used the front-loader to scoop up and move several tons of dirt. With the landscape box, I smoothed and sloped the whole area.

As the sun was setting, I led the horse back over from the pasture to the pen and gave him his sweet feed. As I walked back to the house, I surveyed all that I had done that day: smoothed and shaped driveway, freshly trimmed grass on a neat lawn and a future croquet court. It was as if the universe had conspired for my desire; conditions were perfect for every one of my little projects.

There are days that just seem destined for the very thing that we are doing. And in the doing, we find a satisfaction that exceeds pleasure.

H. Arnett
4/26/13

About Doc Arnett

Native of southwestern Kentucky currently living in Blair, Kansas, with my wife of twenty-five years, Randa. We have, between us, eight children and twenty-one grandkids. We enjoy singing, worship, remodeling and travel.
This entry was posted in Christian Devotions, Christian Living, Farming, Gardening, Metaphysical Reflection, Nature, Spiritual Contemplation, Work and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.