Of Wind and Work

On the morning of her last day,
I tried to mulch the newly seeded lawn
on the west side of the house
where I had shaved away the slope
and left something closer
to the shape of flat that makes
a game of croquet play a bit better.

The wind
kept blowing away the strands of straw
until finally I gave up,
knew that whatever else this day
might be good for,
it wasn’t this.

I thought I might be able
to finish the larger part that afternoon
but the wind kept blowing
throughout the day,
even shoving the truck a bit sideways
on my way home from work.

At dusk, the wind lay off enough
that I could finish the work
I’d started earlier,
scattering straw in the dark
and grateful for knowing her
and the way she always seemed to know
whether or not it was a time for giving up
or for coming back later.

And that a thing that wasn’t worth finishing
shouldn’t be started.

H. Arnett
5/1/13

About Doc Arnett

Native of southwestern Kentucky currently living in Blair, Kansas, with my wife of twenty-five years, Randa. We have, between us, eight children and twenty-one grandkids. We enjoy singing, worship, remodeling and travel.
This entry was posted in Aging, Christian Devotions, Christian Living, Death & Dying, Family, Gardening, Metaphysical Reflection, Nature, Poetry, Relationships, Spiritual Contemplation, Work and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.