Dark Days

Yes, folks, it’s official now: the Global Warming Seminar scheduled for this weekend in northeastern Kansas is being postponed indefinitely, due to the weather forecast: possible snow accumulation of one to three inches. Yep, that’s right; right here in Kansas where the trees and flowers are blooming and the typical high temperature for the first week of May is in the eighties, we have a predicted high today of thirty-seven degrees with a low of thirty-three for the next two nights. So, no GWS for this weekend.

On the other hand, the Climate Change group does plan to convene, weather and Al Gore permitting. Of perhaps greater interest, though, the “I Swear I Saw in the National Enquirer That We’re Headed for Another Ice Age” meeting will proceed as scheduled with events commencing on the ice floe that is forming beneath the Pony Express Bridge. First up will be the keynote address, “Thirty-five Edible Types of Arctic Plankton,” followed by a variety of breakout sessions on “Harvesting and Preserving Sub-Tundral Plant Species.” Of course, the organizers would like to inform you that in the event of an unexpected degree of sunshine, meetings will be held in the storage facilities of the Artesian Ice & Inflatable Hypothermia Company. Please bring your own seal blubber and frozen whale fin snacks.

Of course, whether it’s the weather or wars or rumors of wars, there will always be something disturbing, some ominous omen or perceived harbinger of disaster. Eventually, Armageddon will come.

But, for today, I believe I will say my prayers, find an umbrella and wear a coat. That seems to me to be much more effective than sticking my head in the sand or hiding out in the survival shelter.

I will be taking my camera along, too. I want to be able to show my great-grandkids pictures of When It Snowed in May… back in Thirteen… and then tell them how the Lord was able to deliver us from that, too.

H. Arnett
5/2/13

About Doc Arnett

Native of southwestern Kentucky currently living in Blair, Kansas, with my wife of twenty-five years, Randa. We have, between us, eight children and twenty-one grandkids. We enjoy singing, worship, remodeling and travel.
This entry was posted in Christian Devotions, Christian Living, Humor, Metaphysical Reflection, Nature, Spiritual Contemplation and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.