Something of Summer

There is something of summer
in these last few days of sun and nineties:
while mowing the pasture
I feel the simmer rising from the ground
and remember high school days
spent hauling hay,
while roofing the new shed
I cannot hold onto the shingle
long enough to shift it into place,
while mowing the lawn
I feel my shirt and shorts
soaked with sweat
and think “this feels like summer.”

But in the evening,
when the neighbor’s tall elms and maples
block the direct of the sun’s sliding into earth,
the air is instantly cooler
and the mornings are even cooler.

I savor this ease,
this sweet relief that comes before
the sapping burn of dog days
and blue haze on gentle hills.

H. Arnett
6/14/13

About Doc Arnett

Native of southwestern Kentucky currently living in Blair, Kansas, with my wife of twenty-five years, Randa. We have, between us, eight children and twenty-one grandkids. We enjoy singing, worship, remodeling and travel.
This entry was posted in Christian Devotions, Christian Living, Metaphysical Reflection, Nature, Poetry, Spiritual Contemplation and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.