A Leading to Service–Part I

Lately, there have been so many “unusual” events in my life that it’s just downright exciting: getting Godly direction from a hitchhiker, having a wonderful blessing from taking in a cyclist in need of medical rest, sensing God’s leading in what seemed like a routine pastoral visit and getting another blessing from a bizarre impulse. I don’t think I’ve ever had a time in my life when there were so many “signs” that God was visibly active.

I’ve written already about the hitchhiker and the cyclist; I’ll give a relatively short account of the pastoral visit.

I went by to visit one of my church members, a woman who is too old too be middle-aged and too active to think of as elderly. Having thought for two years that she is a widow, I was surprised to meet her husband. As I visited with them, he said something that deeply stirred my spirit. “I really need to offer to pray for this guy,” I thought. That’s not something I normally do with people I’ve just met.

Just about the time I started to ask, an adult grandchild showed up. “Aw, man! What lousy timing,” I thought. But the Spirit wouldn’t make giving up that convenient for my spirit. So, at the risk of personal embarrassment and rejection, I said to the man, “I know I’ve just met you and this may sound really weird, but I just have a really strong sense that I need to pray for you. Would that be okay?”

“Sure,” he said, provoking more than slight surprise in me, “that’d be fine.”

As I knelt in front of him, I took both of his hands. Immediately, I sensed deep, piercing ache and pain. I began sobbing, trying to be quiet in spite of the waves of anguish I could feel. After twenty seconds or so of that, I began praying.

When I finished, I moved back across the room to my chair. The granddaughter said, “There’s a woman I work with who just found out she has cancer.”

“And she doesn’t understand why?” I asked. “She is a believer and she hasn’t lived a sinful life and she’s wondering ‘Why me?'” There was a look of surprise and puzzlement on the granddaughter’s face, “Yes. Exactly.”

So we prayed for her friend at work and then just to make it three in a row, I prayed for the woman I’d come to visit.

Once again, God had taken something mundane and normal and turned it into something much more powerful and significant. I had to marvel at his timing and purpose.

And then, twenty minutes later, he turned it into something even more powerful and significant. Lord willing, I’ll write about that tomorrow.

H. Arnett
8/13/13

About Doc Arnett

Native of southwestern Kentucky currently living in Blair, Kansas, with my wife of twenty-five years, Randa. We have, between us, eight children and twenty-one grandkids. We enjoy singing, worship, remodeling and travel.
This entry was posted in Christian Devotions, Christian Living, Family, Metaphysical Reflection, Prayer, Relationships, Spiritual Contemplation and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.