Answered Prayers

For the past several months, Randa and I have been praying for God’s direction in our life and in our church. It has been a bit of an unsettled summer. I had actually interviewed for another job a hundred-and-fifty miles away. I’d been really excited about the prospect of a new job but not at all excited at the prospect of moving again. Randa: less than me on both points.

As things have worked out, we have seen God’s hand at work in a wonderful way. In the past month, we’ve seen chance encounters with strangers bring us both blessing and direction.

Just a few days ago, we picked up a young man who’d missed his ride near the Menard’s store where he works on the southeast edge of Saint Joe. As we drove the few miles of city routes toward his home near Lovers’ Lane, he told us a bit about himself and eventually asked if we had a church.

The conversation became so engaging at that point that I forgot to ask him where he lived and he forgot to tell me until we drove past it. I backed into a nearby driveway and turned around, headed back. As I started to pull over to the curb to let him out, he shared a rather interesting statement about the particular moment when we offered him a ride.

“I had just finished praying, ‘Lord, if there’s somebody around here who could give me a ride, just send them over here to me.’ I opened my eyes and your car was stopped right in front of me.”

We had to chuckle out loud at that, and shake our heads in believing wonder. When we accept that following the leading of the Spirit may be a little inconvenient at times, when we find ourselves willing to go a bit out of way to serve others, we may very likely discover that finding the answer to our prayers leads us to be the answer to others.

H. Arnett
8/23/13

About Doc Arnett

Native of southwestern Kentucky currently living in Blair, Kansas, with my wife of twenty-five years, Randa. We have, between us, eight children and twenty-one grandkids. We enjoy singing, worship, remodeling and travel.
This entry was posted in Christian Devotions, Christian Living, Metaphysical Reflection, Prayer, Relationships, Spiritual Contemplation and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.