Life Is Good

I am not looking forward to heading out to work this morning. Now of course a prime suspect in the lack of motivation on that point would be my inherent laziness exacerbated by a long weekend of lolling about on the couch, watching football and eating potato chips. Having had yesterday off work might be contributing to my current disinclination as well. The real culprit, though, is the much-welcomed visit of warm weather that we had on Saturday and Sunday.

A howling northwest wind served notice last evening that our visitor was headed for other parts and our replacement guest would be much more obtrusive. We’ve gone from a high yesterday of fifty degrees to a current wind chill of minus seventeen. I am not looking forward to the introduction that will occur as soon as I step out of house in just a little while.

But… I have warm clothes, the car is in the garage and I trust that the heater will be working. I don’t have to work outside today, I don’t have to walk three miles uphill both ways to go to school and our furnace appears to be working here in the house. On most days, gratitude properly includes both what we have and that from which we have been spared. I am loved, cared for, provided for and have more than I need. Even on a cold day.

H. Arnett
1/21/14

About Doc Arnett

Native of southwestern Kentucky currently living in Blair, Kansas, with my wife of twenty-five years, Randa. We have, between us, eight children and twenty-one grandkids. We enjoy singing, worship, remodeling and travel.
This entry was posted in Christian Devotions, Christian Living, Metaphysical Reflection, Nature, Spiritual Contemplation, Work and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.