Sunny Side Up

It is not always easy
to find the time or the inclination of mind
to focus on the beauty that is formed
in the world around us.

Sometimes it seems more natural
to be drawn into the swirl and swallow
of the wallowing in the muck
even when it should disgust us.

I’ve heard that “misery loves company”
but I’ve also noticed
that neither host nor guest
seems any better for all the sharing.

I’ve noticed, too,
there’s not a lot of fun
to be remembered
while you’re cleaning up after a pity party.

It does not come natural to me
to see the good in a bad situation,
but I do know that whether
the glass is half-full or half-empty

you can usually get a refill
if you ask politely.

H. Arnett
8/11/16

About Doc Arnett

Native of southwestern Kentucky currently living in Blair, Kansas, with my wife of twenty-five years, Randa. We have, between us, eight children and twenty-one grandkids. We enjoy singing, worship, remodeling and travel.
This entry was posted in Humor, Poetry, Spiritual Contemplation and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.